HOME >> Channels >> Virus

Virus   

 
News about Virus
"We have tended to ignore the indirect effects of the virus—and of the measures taken to prevent infections—on our… WIRED (Tue Jan 18)
Epstein-Barr Virus Could Be the Leading Cause of Multiple Sclerosis, Large Study Finds Gizmodo (Thu Jan 13)
Scientists are working on creating decoys of the receptors the coronavirus normally binds to, luring the virus away… MIT Technology Review (Tue Jan 11)
"We have tended to ignore the indirect effects of the virus—and of the measures taken to prevent infections—on our… WIRED (Thu Jan 06)
Some Chinese companies suspend production in Zhejiang province on virus outbreak Reuters Tech News (Mon Dec 13)
A fast-moving virus which constantly evolves and can quickly throw the world back into chaos. It’s in large part wh… WIRED (Wed Dec 01)
Scientists in South Africa identified a new variant of the virus that causes Covid-19, and panic about the new vari… WIRED (Wed Dec 01)
Wall Street rebounds after virus-linked sell-off Reuters Tech News (Tue Nov 30)
This protein is the part of the virus that helps it to enter human cells. Preliminary evidence suggests this varian… MIT Technology Review (Mon Nov 29)
Scientists are working on creating decoys of the receptors the coronavirus normally binds to, luring the virus away… MIT Technology Review (Tue Nov 23)
Scientists Say a Second HIV Patient Cleared the Virus Naturally Gizmodo (Mon Nov 15)
Scientists are working on creating decoys of the receptors the coronavirus normally binds to, luring the virus away… MIT Technology Review (Wed Oct 27)
All pandemic long, scientists brawled over how the virus spreads. Droplets! No, aerosols! At the heart of the fight… WIRED (Tue Oct 19)
Texas Governor Bans Covid-19 Vaccine Mandates in Huge Win for Virus Gizmodo (Tue Oct 12)
New Tick Virus Shows Nature Is Still Inventing Ways to Mess With Humans Gizmodo (Fri Oct 08)
Researchers have had stunning success injecting the cowpea mosaic virus into the tumors of mice and dogs. Now they'… WIRED (Mon Oct 04)
New Zealand Abandons Covid-Zero Strategy, Leaving Few Countries Still Pursuing Virus Elimination… Gizmodo (Mon Oct 04)
A set of papers show that llama-derived antibodies protect the rodent against the virus—which bodes well for making… WIRED (Wed Sep 29)
As researchers search for new ways to treat covid-19, some scientists are making decoy receptors to lure the virus… MIT Technology Review (Wed Sep 15)
India Is Trying to Contain Latest Outbreak of Deadly Nipah Virus After 12-Year-Old Dies Gizmodo (Wed Sep 08)
As researchers search for new ways to treat covid-19, some scientists are making decoy receptors to lure the virus… MIT Technology Review (Wed Sep 08)
As researchers search for new ways to treat covid-19, some scientists are making decoy receptors to lure the virus… MIT Technology Review (Fri Sep 03)
Scientists are working on creating decoys of the receptors the coronavirus normally binds to, luring the virus away… MIT Technology Review (Sun Aug 29)
Scientists are working on creating decoys of the receptors the coronavirus normally binds to, luring the virus away… MIT Technology Review (Sat Aug 28)
As researchers search for new ways to treat covid-19, some scientists are making decoy receptors to lure the virus… MIT Technology Review (Sat Aug 28)
Scientists are working on creating decoys of the receptors the coronavirus normally binds to, luring the virus away… MIT Technology Review (Fri Aug 27)
As researchers search for new ways to treat covid-19, some scientists are making decoy receptors to lure the virus… MIT Technology Review (Fri Aug 27)
Vietnam expects 50,000 new virus cases in major manufacturing hub Reuters Tech News (Thu Aug 26)
All pandemic long, scientists brawled over how the virus spreads. Droplets! No, aerosols! At the heart of the fight… WIRED (Tue Aug 24)
The delta variant also seems to lead to higher viral loads than other variants, or how much virus is in your nose a… MIT Technology Review (Fri Aug 13)
COVID-19 misinformation is increasing amid US virus surge The Verge (Tue Aug 10)
Twenty years ago, a groundbreaking virus crippled 45 million computers by dangling love letters as email attachment… WIRED (Sun Jul 25)
China Reports First Human Case and Death From Rare, Highly Fatal Monkey B Virus Gizmodo (Mon Jul 19)
Asian shares extend losses on renewed virus scare, inflation woes Reuters Tech News (Mon Jul 19)
“The hybrid model is probably among the worst that we could be putting forward if our goal is to stop the virus get… WIRED (Fri Jul 16)
Even in countries with high vaccination rates, the virus is still circulating among children, the vast majority of… MIT Technology Review (Tue Jul 13)
Learn about the activities of other online sleuths and their search for the origin of the virus. Here’s a profile o… MIT Technology Review (Tue Jun 29)
(2/2) For instance, a normal virus collected from bats in the wild, if brought to Wuhan, could have somehow slipped… MIT Technology Review (Mon Jun 28)
(1/2) When Chan read the letter, she could already see a problem. In debunking the possibility that the virus was t… MIT Technology Review (Mon Jun 28)
The authors of the letter had looked carefully at the genome of the covid-19 virus and said they couldn’t find any… MIT Technology Review (Mon Jun 28)
[email protected] started asking questions in March 2020. She was chatting with friends on Facebook about the virus spread… MIT Technology Review (Mon Jun 28)
They called it a conspiracy theory. But this postdoctoral research tweeted life into the idea that the virus came f… MIT Technology Review (Mon Jun 28)
John McAfee died in a prison cell outside Barcelona. The anti-virus pioneer turned fugitive was 75 years old: WIRED (Fri Jun 25)
The Delta variant of Covid-19 is the most virulent and transmissible form of the virus to emerge thus far—and it no… WIRED (Wed Jun 23)
The virus that causes Covid-19, Sars-CoV-2 is so common that scientists are increasingly worried about it leaping f… WIRED (Wed Jun 23)
The Delta variant of Covid-19 is the most virulent and transmissible form of the virus to emerge thus far—and it no… WIRED (Mon Jun 21)
Hitting the Books: How memes spread through society like a 'mind virus' Engadget (Sat Jun 19)
A year ago, engineers built apps to track potential virus exposure. Our investigation shows the impact has been mi… MIT Technology Review (Wed Jun 16)
NEW: A year ago, engineers built apps to track potential virus exposure. Our research shows the impact has been mix… MIT Technology Review (Wed Jun 16)
While the western world was struggling a year ago with the virus, India was relatively unscathed. Earlier this year… MIT Technology Review (Fri May 28)
Some health agencies predicted that Google and Apple’s virus-tracing apps would be able to notify users of virus ex… NYTimes Tech (Fri May 28)
Virus alert apps have been downloaded more than 90 million times. But researchers don't yet know whether the apps’… NYTimes Tech (Thu May 27)
Twenty years ago, a groundbreaking virus crippled 45 million computers by dangling love letters as email attachment… WIRED (Tue May 25)
Tech Tent: Did e-Estonia beat the virus? BBC News Technology (Fri May 21)
Mixing vaccines might lead to broader immunity and hamper the virus’s attempts to evade our immune systems. Eventua… MIT Technology Review (Fri May 14)
Mixing vaccines might lead to broader immunity and hamper the virus’s attempts to evade our immune systems. Eventua… MIT Technology Review (Thu May 13)
Mixing vaccines might lead to broader immunity and hamper the virus’s attempts to evade our immune systems. Eventua… MIT Technology Review (Thu May 13)
Researchers see this as a hopeful sign. The virus may be running out of new ways to adapt to the current environmen… MIT Technology Review (Thu May 13)
Mixing vaccines might lead to broader immunity and hamper the virus’s attempts to evade our immune systems. Eventua… MIT Technology Review (Thu May 13)
Mixing vaccines might lead to broader immunity and hamper the virus’s attempts to evade our immune systems. Eventua… MIT Technology Review (Wed May 12)
Mixing vaccines might lead to broader immunity and hamper the virus’s attempts to evade our immune systems. Eventua… MIT Technology Review (Tue May 11)
Mixing vaccines might lead to broader immunity and hamper the virus’s attempts to evade our immune systems. Eventua… MIT Technology Review (Mon May 10)
Mixing vaccines might lead to broader immunity and hamper the virus’s attempts to evade our immune systems. Eventua… MIT Technology Review (Sun May 09)
Mixing vaccines might lead to broader immunity and hamper the virus’s attempts to evade our immune systems. Eventua… MIT Technology Review (Sat May 08)
Mixing vaccines might lead to broader immunity and hamper the virus’s attempts to evade our immune systems. Eventua… MIT Technology Review (Fri May 07)
Researchers have had stunning success injecting the cowpea mosaic virus into the tumors of mice and dogs. Now they'… WIRED (Thu May 06)
The virus might become an unwelcome permanent roommate. We are unlikely to force it to leave. But we may be able to… WIRED (Wed May 05)
From modular meeting rooms to virus-fighting lights, we take a look at six startups transforming the workplace.… WIRED (Fri Apr 23)
Former CDC Director Under Trump Now Promoting Unproven Virus-Killing Tech for 'Big Ass Fans' Gizmodo (Tue Apr 13)
Virus-killing fan-maker Big Ass Fans adds former CDC director as advisor CNET News (Mon Apr 12)
GE is working to put COVID-19 virus-detecting sensors in phones Engadget (Fri Apr 09)
ICYMI Lightspeed rolls out online payment processing service in virus-hit UK and Europe in boost for continent's b… FP Tech Desk (Wed Apr 07)
Lightspeed rolls out online payment processing service in virus-hit UK and Europe in boost for continent's battered… FP Tech Desk (Tue Apr 06)
He says to throw out the idea of herd immunity and to gird ourselves for localized combat against a virus that prod… WIRED (Thu Apr 01)
Twenty years ago, a groundbreaking virus crippled 45 million computers by dangling love letters as email attachment… WIRED (Sun Mar 28)
Sensex, Nifty rise 1% after virus-driven selloff Reuters Tech News (Fri Mar 26)
North Korean state media is being unusually up-front about the need to prevent the virus from spreading, describing… WIRED (Thu Mar 25)
'Chinese virus' label has led to death and violence. It needs to stop CNET News (Tue Mar 23)
Trump's "Chinese Virus" tweet helped fuel anti-Asian hate on Twitter by @TheRobertHart Forbes Tech (Fri Mar 19)
No virus variants can evade all antibody types, so far; new variants can infect mice Reuters Tech News (Sat Mar 20)
Virus variants found to be deadlier, more contagious; some may thwart vaccines Reuters Tech News (Wed Mar 17)
Researchers Are Working on a Virtual Phone Virus That 'Mimics' the Spread of Covid-19 Gizmodo (Mon Mar 15)
Exclusive: Regular booster vaccines are the future in battle with COVID-19 virus, expert says… Reuters Tech News (Mon Mar 15)
Exclusive: Regular booster vaccines are the future in battle with COVID-19 virus, expert says… Reuters Tech News (Mon Mar 15)
Missionary misfits: Meet Joe DeRisi, a real-life virus hunter by @vassallo Forbes Tech (Sun Mar 14)
While most vaccines use a dead or weakened version of the virus, it was Türeci and ?ahin’s background in mRNA resea… WIRED (Fri Mar 12)
Missionary misfits: Meet Joe DeRisi, a real-life virus hunter by @vassallo Forbes Tech (Tue Mar 09)
Vaccine response may be weaker in elderly; Merck drug shows promise in reducing virus level Reuters Tech News (Tue Mar 09)
See SARS-COV-2 virus replication explained through interpretive dance CNET News (Wed Mar 03)
Colleges requiring virus-screening tech, from virus symptom-checking apps to temperature check stations and wearabl… Techmeme (Wed Mar 03)
The toilet flushes of millions of people can track the rise of dangerous new strains of the covid-19 virus. MIT Technology Review (Sun Feb 28)
The toilet flushes of millions of people can track the rise of dangerous new strains of the covid-19 virus. MIT Technology Review (Sun Feb 28)
The toilet flushes of millions of people can track the rise of dangerous new strains of the covid-19 virus. MIT Technology Review (Thu Feb 25)
Family stranded in South Africa as travel ban over mutant virus strain kicks in Reuters Tech News (Tue Dec 22)
Italy has patient with new strain of virus found in Britain Reuters Tech News (Sun Dec 20)
Italy has patient with new strain of virus found in Britain Reuters Tech News (Sun Dec 20)
Apple temporarily shuts California stores in virus surge, some in UK after new curbs Reuters Tech News (Sun Dec 20)
The virus, and the temperature-sensitive vaccines that are poised to combat it, have brought new attention to the c… NYTimes Tech (Wed Dec 16)
The idea to intentionally infect a patient with a lethal virus to help cure them was perhaps the greatest idea in t… WIRED (Tue Dec 15)
"If we were just fighting the virus, we could beat this. But we’re not. We’re fighting the virus plus disinformatio… MIT Technology Review (Sun Dec 13)
"If we were just fighting the virus, we could beat this. But we’re not. We’re fighting the virus plus disinformatio… MIT Technology Review (Sat Dec 12)
There is no single, standard way to detect the virus; different labs set their own thresholds for a positive result… WIRED (Fri Dec 11)
"If we were just fighting the virus, we could beat this. But we’re not. We’re fighting the virus plus disinformatio… MIT Technology Review (Tue Dec 08)
"If we were just fighting the virus, we could beat this. But we’re not. We’re fighting the virus plus disinformatio… MIT Technology Review (Tue Dec 08)
"If we were just fighting the virus, we could beat this. But we’re not. We’re fighting the virus plus disinformatio… MIT Technology Review (Tue Dec 08)
California becomes biggest U.S. state to launch virus contact-tracing app Reuters Tech News (Mon Dec 07)
“We shouldn’t think that, once we get to a vaccine—whenever that is—and once we’re able to arrest this virus, that&helli WIRED (Mon Nov 30)
Modified 'stealth' virus could fight advanced cancers Engadget (Sun Nov 29)
No benefit seen from plasma treatment in severe COVID-19; virus may hurt male fertility Reuters Tech News (Wed Nov 25)
Virus-Killing UV Lamps Are Burning People's Eyes, Doctors Warn Gizmodo (Wed Nov 25)
'Stealth bomber' virus could be new killer weapon against cancer, study claims Mirror Tech (Wed Nov 25)
Virus surges complicate the distribution of scarce COVID-19 treatments The Verge (Mon Nov 23)
Researchers say study on COVID-19 in Italy doesn't dispute virus origins Reuters Tech News (Thu Nov 19)
Virus surges complicate the distribution of scarce COVID-19 treatments The Verge (Fri Nov 20)
Virus surges complicate the distribution of scarce COVID-19 treatments The Verge (Thu Nov 19)
An Emerging Ebola-Like Virus in Bolivia Can Spread Between Humans, Scientists Find Gizmodo (Tue Nov 17)
There are now two covid-19 vaccines reporting at least 90% effectiveness in early trials. With the virus having kil… MIT Technology Review (Tue Nov 17)
For two decades, Onel de Guzman has been suspected of unleashing the groundbreaking virus. But he's never confessed… WIRED (Tue Nov 17)
Great story yesterday by @natashanyt on the use of experimental wearable tech designed to track virus exposure. Som… NYTimes Tech (Tue Nov 17)
Airbnb IPO filing shows third-quarter earnings beating virus with cost cuts, new focus Reuters Tech News (Tue Nov 17)
Moderna vaccine is second to exceed expectations; mutated virus may be more vulnerable to new vaccines… Reuters Tech News (Mon Nov 16)
Trump's Favorite Covid Adviser: We're Really Not Doing Enough to Collaborate With the Virus Gizmodo (Mon Nov 16)
These quantities may sound big, but we will need many billions of doses before vaccines can beat back the virus on… MIT Technology Review (Mon Nov 16)
There are now two covid-19 vaccines reporting at least 90% effectiveness in early trials. With the virus having kil… MIT Technology Review (Mon Nov 16)
Wearable virus-tracing sensors could usher into the real world the same kind of extensive tracking that companies… NYTimes Tech (Mon Nov 16)
North Korea's Kim orders tightening of anti-virus measures amid global pandemic - KCNA Reuters Tech News (Mon Nov 16)
Alibaba tops $70 billion sales in first post-virus Singles' Day FP Tech Desk (Wed Nov 11)
Ventilation systems are often the last to be maintained—not great if we're expecting them to filter virus particles… WIRED (Tue Nov 10)
NYC first responders have high COVID-19 rates; public surfaces may hold clues to virus spread… Reuters Tech News (Wed Nov 04)
COVID-19 heart changes raise death risk; virus may be lead killer of young adults during surges… Reuters Tech News (Mon Oct 26)
Smoke exposure or covid-19? Colorado governor says wildfires could mask the spread of the virus.… Gizmodo (Sun Oct 25)
Smoke exposure or covid-19? Colorado governor says wildfires could mask the spread of the virus.… Gizmodo (Sun Oct 25)
Wildfire smoke may help virus spread, mouthwash helps curb it Reuters Tech News (Sat Oct 24)
“We shouldn’t think that, once we get to a vaccine—whenever that is—and once we’re able to arrest this virus, that&helli WIRED (Fri Oct 23)
In one recent study, researchers left virus samples out for days on various surfaces in lab conditions and found th… WIRED (Thu Oct 22)
It’s tempting to piece those two elements together: If the virus is on the surfaces around us, and it also lasts fo… WIRED (Thu Oct 22)
The second consistent finding is that there’s plenty of evidence of the virus on surfaces in places where infected… WIRED (Thu Oct 22)
The March study found the virus was present after a few hours on cardboard, and after several days on plastic and s… WIRED (Thu Oct 22)
But the virus is vulnerable there. And then it needs to find a way inside you—usually through your nose or your eye… WIRED (Thu Oct 22)
Another interesting point Farzan shares during EmTechMIT: Most covid-19 vaccines in development target the virus… MIT Technology Review (Tue Oct 20)
"With absolute certainty, it's not an engineered virus. With almost absolute certainty, it wasn't the result of a l… MIT Technology Review (Tue Oct 20)
Economic uncertainty, an upcoming election, and a virus that is still not under control. What do business leaders n… MIT Technology Review (Tue Oct 20)
Remdesivir questioned by WHO trial; women take virus more seriously than men Reuters Tech News (Sat Oct 17)
Amazon workers say Prime Day rush breaks virus safety vows - Bloomberg News Reuters Tech News (Thu Oct 15)
The idea to intentionally infect a patient with a lethal virus to help cure them was perhaps the greatest idea in t… WIRED (Tue Oct 13)
‘Extremely robust’ Covid-19 virus reportedly lasts 28 days on glass and By… Forbes Tech (Mon Oct 12)
Daily English COVID cases double in a week as UK struggles with resurgent virus Reuters Tech News (Fri Oct 09)
Coronavirus vaccines won't be affected by mutations in virus, scientists say Mirror Tech (Fri Oct 09)
Coronavirus vaccines won't be affected by mutations in virus, scientists say Mirror Tech (Fri Oct 09)
After receiving a therapy that uses the cowpea mosaic virus, several dogs had their tumors disappear entirely and l… WIRED (Tue Oct 06)